3 Day Refresh – an honest review

So, if you’ve read my blog in the past, you know I’ve done the 3 day refresh before, with mixed results. I lost 5 lbs the first time I did it, about 6 months ago. But it was HARD. I felt horrible and sick for most of it. I was pretty sure I could contribute a lot of the negatives to caffeine withdrawl. I’m a 1-2 cups of coffee/day person, with a couple diet cokes added in later in the day. So, to go cold turkey was probably not a good idea. I was drinking green tea to try to help the headache but it just wasn’t cutting it. By day 2 I felt sluggish, had a horrible headache, and just felt crappy all around. And sorry for the TMI, but I was backed up, and didn’t go to the bathroom for the entire 3 days! So by day 3 I felt even more bloated than when I started, and hadn’t lost any weight. Amazingly I woke up on day 4 and had dropped 5 lbs. My system also finally *ahem* cleared out, and I felt much better. I definitely wasn’t planning on ever doing it again!

But, this week I decided to try the 3 Day Refresh one more time. After the holidays and several months of just plain bad eating, I was feeling so bloated and sluggish. I really decided I would jump start with a 3 day refresh, then tackle a 21 day fix. And hopefully lose the 10 lbs I’ve gained in the last few months! It’s amazing what time does to memory, I know I hated it last time but I was convinced it must not have been as bad as I remember. HaHa!

The truth is, it actually wasn’t as bad as I remembered. But, that’s because I modified the plan from the beginning. Now, I know die-hard beachbody coaches and clean eating fans probably won’t agree with my methods. But I don’t really care. Because it’s all about doing what’s right for MY body. I know my body better than anyone, and I also just know myself. So, off the bat, I decided I would drink coffee this time. I usually drink my coffee in the mornings in my shakeology so I decided to just keep that the same. I drink 12-16 oz iced coffee, add a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk, 1 stevia packet, and a scoop of chocolate vegan shakeology. First of all, YUM. I drink this every single day and I absolutely love it. The plan calls for shakeology in the morning and stevia is allowed. It also says black coffee is okay if you really need it. So, really my only cheat was the splash of almond milk.

My other big modification is the one that will get some people all up in arms. I’m drinking Diet Coke. YES. DIET COKE. Evil, evil Diet Coke. OMG, everyone, I am drinking artificial sweetener. There, I said it, I admit it, I’m going to beachbody hell. Look, I know. I know diet soda is not good for me. I know the artificial sweeteners have been linked to all kinds of health problems, and apparently also increase cravings for sweets. And yes, I’d like to stop drinking it. But, it’s just soooo GOOD.

The thing is, I’m trying really hard here to do the clean eating thing, to live a healthier lifestyle and get in better shape. And it’s HARD. And if I’m following the plan 90%, well, that’s about 90% healthier than I was last week with my pizza and cookies. So, that said, I also added a little extra food to the 3 day plan, because I know that my body needs it.

I absolutely love beachbody programs, and the nutrition plans that come with them. But, at the same time, there is a LOT of pressure from other coaches to follow them PERFECTLY. God forbid you admit to drinking diet soda, or skipping a few workouts. I think all that pressure scares people off! They think, “oh, I’m not perfect, I cannot do this 100%” so they don’t even try! And that’s where I completely disagree. You know what? If you follow the plan even 50%, you are still doing better than you were before you started!

So, this round is going better. I feel a lot better, probably because I’m not going through caffeine withdrawal. I get pretty hungry by the late afternoon, but part of that is just my schedule. I don’t get home until after 6 so it’s a long wait between the afternoon snack and dinner. I don’t feel sluggish or dizzy like last time. (Again, just because of caffeine maybe?)

So, here is what the plan calls for vs. what I actually ate on day 1.

Breakfast
Plan: What I ate:
Shakeology with 12 oz water Shakeology with 12 oz coffee, splash of almond milk, and stevia.
1 Serving of Fruit 1 Banana (= 2 servings of fruit
Mid-Morning
Fiber Sweep with 8 oz water Fiber Sweep with 10oz water
Lunch
Vanilla Fresh Shake with 10 oz water Vanilla Fresh Shake with 12 oz water
1 Serving Fruit 1 cup of grapes (= 2 servings of fruit)
1 serving Veggie Cucumber = 1 serving Veggie
1 serving healthy fat 2 TBSP Hummus = 1 serving healthy fat
Mid-Afternoon
1 serving veggie Cucumber = 1 serving veggie
1 serving health fat 2 TBSP Hummus = 1 serving healthy fat
Dinner
Vanilla Fresh Shake with 10 oz water Vanilla Fresh Shake with 12 oz water, 1 packet of stevia, cinnamon
1 meal from Dinner Recipes List Coconut steamed veggies = 2 Servings

At the end of day 1, I felt great. The veggies for dinner were really yummy and I wasn’t hungry at all!

On day 2, I followed this almost exactly, until I got to dinner. I was really hungry and had a little bit of a headache. Seriously, the thought of eating just veggies again for dinner made me want to vomit. I ended up eating an Amy’s Organic pasta with veggies bowl. And a big spoonful of peanut butter! But then I felt fine. So far today (day 3) I’m doing good. I brought veggies with apples and almond butter for lunch, and hummus w/ cucumber for the afternoon snack. I’ll have to see how I feel by dinner. Not sure if I can survive on just seasoned green beans, which is the plan.

Just FYI – the Fiber Sweep is gross. It’s grainy, like drinking sand. On day one I thought I might vomit afterwards. Day 2 was even worse, I had to really force it down. Day 3 somehow I managed to just chug down all in one big gulp. I guess it was the knowledge that it was the last one that got me through!

10956218_10205179780827630_1840778597_n

The good news is, I’m not feeling so bloated and backed up this time. Actually, the exact opposite has happened, more like what you would expect with a “cleanse.” I do feel pretty sorry for everyone who has to be in close contact with me these past few days. 🙂 And as of this morning, I’m down 3 lbs. We’ll see what the scale says tomorrow for the final weigh in!

One thing I want to address is the question of whether to work out or not on the refresh. The user guide says mild to moderate exercise is fine. I disagree, strongly. You are only eating about 900 calories. It’s just enough to get through the day, really. Last round, I didn’t actually work out but I did exert myself physically, by going for a jog/walk with my son and playing outside with him. This time I really took it easy and I felt much, much better. I have heard the same from a few other people, that working out on this plan really wiped them out. So, beachbody says it’s fine. I say, it’s 3 days, better to just take it easy. 

Would I do this again? Possibly. Now that I’ve found an approach that works for me, I think it’s doable. It’s not the most pleasant 3 days ever, but I’m also paying for months of excess and indulgence here! I do think it’s worth it in the long run, *IF* I keep up with the clean eating and keep the weight off.

I start the 21 day fix on Monday. I’ve done 2 round already and love it! As a single mom, I’ve found it very easy to adapt to my lifestyle. I have some modifications for that plan as well, mostly ways to fit it into my crazy life, and I will be writing them up in my next post. Stay tuned!

Full Disclosure, I am a beachbody coach. I’m mostly what you would call a “discount coach.” I figured out a long time ago that my monthly supply of shakeology would cheaper if I signed up as a coach, so that’s what I did. And, I save 25% on any programs I want to order. Win-Win. If you want to try anything out, feel free to email me or visit my website, I’m happy to help. And I won’t pressure you to be perfect 🙂 

One thought on “3 Day Refresh – an honest review

  1. I am really happy to read this honest post about the 3 day refresh, I am also a beachbody coach and though I have done the refresh 2 times before I attempted to do it this time and I had to stop after 1 day. The first time I did it I was fine.. I think I added one extra piece of fruit just one day and that worked. The second time I was starving the whole time and miserable. I don’t know how I managed to finish. Also, I started to really really not like the vanilla fresh shake and it was nauseating. This time, the vanilla fresh was so gross I couldn’t finish my dinner shake, the thought of eating vegetables was also nauseating, and I had the worst headache in the world making me go to bed super early just to escape the pain. You are right about green tea not cutting it when you go cold turkey with coffee. I ended up waking up on day two with a smaller more managable headache but still everything that I would have to do made me nauseous. I lost almost 2 lbs the first day, but I decided to go with 21 day fix meal plan for day two so I don’t dislike veggies anymore. Glad to know I am not the only one who had such a hard time with it!

Leave a Reply

