The one who got away?

Have you ever just been randomly stalking someone on facebook who you hadn’t talked to in a long time, and then see something that makes you feel like you just got punched in the stomach? Yeah, that’s me right now.

There are many kinds of relationships. I used to have one that I thought, in some way, transcended all others. It was able to evolve over the years and adapt to ever changing circumstances. It was sometimes a romantic relationship, sometimes a platonic one, but a friendship above all else.

Something happened that hurt my feelings and instead of talking it through, I made the mistake of pulling away. I guess deep down I hoped it would right itself over time but instead the friendship faded away completely.

I never stopped the feeling however, that it was the kind of relationship that could be revived at any time. Several times over the past couple of years, events in my life have led to my thinking, “wow, I miss my best friend.” For some reason I always assumed this feeling was mutual, this knowing that we could come back to the friendship at anytime.

It turns out, “the one who got away” is a lot closer than I realized. Geographically, at least. Emotionally, he’s never been farther away. 

Leave a Reply

