feeling not so refreshed

I’m on Day 3 of the 3 Day Refresh by Beachbody. I would love to sit here and say (as I’ve seen by other coaches all over the internet) that I feel so energetic and great and that it’s sooo easy. But…I’d be lying. It’s definitely not easy. And I don’t feel energetic or great. The first day was actually pretty easy. But days 2 and 3, not so much.

First of all, I’m hungry. Like, really hungry. And, I have had a headache for 3 days. And, I feel a little dizzy right now. But, today is actually way better than yesterday. Yesterday was horrible. I was dizzy and weak. I ended up eating pasta with my dinner and a spoonful of peanut butter and it helped, a lot. I thought a lot about quitting last night. But, I decided rather than quit, I was going to listen to my body and modify the food plan today as needed. If my body needs more food to function, I’m going to give it what it needs.

I think the headache is mostly from caffeine withdrawal. Although I’ve been drinking some green tea, it’s by no means been enough to replace the coffee and diet coke I normally drink daily. So, this morning I made my regular shake with almond milk and coffee, instead of just plain with water as the Refresh plan calls for. I also ate a whole banana instead of half. It helped a lot, I actually felt pretty good all morning. For lunch I had my Vanilla Fresh shake, cup of watermelon, cucumber and 2 TBSP of hummus, which is what the plan calls for. But, I added a small pita to that for some extra fuel. For snack this afternoon I ate another cucumber and another 2 TBSP of hummus. Based on what I’ve consumed today, I think I SHOULD be feeling okay right now but for some reason I still don’t. The dizziness started again a bit ago and eating the afternoon snack didn’t seem to help. So, I’m about to eat some plain, organic applesauce. I’m hoping the natural sugar will help. Tonight for dinner, my plan calls for another Vanilla Fresh Shake and a mixed veggies dinner recipe. I plan to have both but I will be adding another protein. Maybe some grilled chicken in my veggies.

I think the premise behind the 3 day refresh is a great one: “Kick start clean eating habits for the first time or just wanting to prepare for big event, milestone or trip. The program is also for people seeking to undo the “damage” of a recent binge. Overall, this product is for anyone wanting to lose weight quickly, to feel lighter, to feel cleaner and healthier, to improve digestion, to curb cravings for junk food, or to improve mental clarity.” But, the reality is not quite living up to the expectations for me.

While I believe firmly in the beachbody programs and message, I think this particular program needs a bit of tweaking. Some people seem to handle it just fine but many others I’ve spoken to are really struggling. I’m all for cleansing my body and resetting my metabolism. But, I expected to feel much better during this 3 day journey. As a single mother with a full-time job, a program that causes me to feel dizzy and hungry for 3 days is just not practical. It’s my opinion that beachbody needs to look at the caloric intake of this program and adjust it based on body size and weight. People who weigh more need more to just go through their daily routine. I also think the company needs to be more clear about the possible side effects and include instructions for what to do if your body just clearly needs more calories to get by.

The 3 Day Refresh did help me realize how much mindless eating I do. Especially around my 5 year old, I just pop random food into my mouth all the time! I don’t count it or even think about it and I’m sure it adds up. So, I will definitely be more conscious of that going forward. I can’t wait to get back to my PiYo meal plan tomorrow. It’s going to feel like heaven to be able to eat so much food again. I’m already salivating at the thought of the yogurt and oatmeal I’m going to eat for breakfast.

I’m still hoping tomorrow when the program is finished I wake up with the weight loss and mental clarity promised. Fingers Crossed!

*I wish this post was more positive. But I believe in being honest and I will not mislead or lie about my experiences just to sell a product. If anyone is interested in trying the 3 Day Refresh, I am happy to share more details with you and talk about whether it’s the right option for you or not. And if it’s not, that’s okay. Because there are still a bunch of other beachbody programs available that can help you reach your goals!

3 thoughts on “feeling not so refreshed

  1. It has not been easy for me either. I got home from work on Day 1 and wanted to throw in the towel. I was hungry and the last thing I wanted was more veggies! Thank goodness for the Vanilla Fresh. That helped. I also drank one small cup of coffee a day. I had too. I could not go through the workday feeling lethargic and having headaches. Today is day 3 for me. I can’t wait to be done! I am proud of myself for sticking to it but I know it will be a while before I do it again. Maybe after the holidays.

    • Congrats for sticking with it! It’s definitely not an easy fix but it did help me push through that plateau. I’m going on a trip to Guatemala next week and I think I’m going to refresh again when I get back. I will be adding coffee each morning this time though. I’ve realized I just cannot live without it 😉

  2. Pingback: 3 Day Refresh and Diet Coke | iheartmycrazylife

Leave a Reply

